Founded in 1966, The Barrington Area Development Council (BADC) is a not-for-profit civic organization with a long history of sponsoring initiatives and organizations that have benefited the Barrington Area community, including CPR Training, the Bikeways Commission, the District 220 Caucus, Barrington Area Blood Drive, the Leadership Academy, and the Citizen of the Year Award. In addition, BADC was the founding organization of the Barrington Area Council of Governments (BACOG) in the 1970s, and a catalyst participating in the formation of renowned groups such as the Barrington Area Council on Aging (BACOA) and Citizens for Conservation (CFC). More recently, BADC has participated as a founding co-sponsor of H.E.R.E. in Barrington– the Mental Health Awareness Coalition of Teens, Parents, and Community Leaders in the Barrington Area.

Board of Directors

Tom Burns

1st Vice President
Jim Peterson

2nd Vice President
Bob Lee

Tom Benjamin

Michael Garcia

Thomas Balsamo
Amy Bash
Tom Burns
Anna Bush
Joe Kelsch
Joe Kelsch Jr.
Linda Kemper
Bob Lee
Bill Lee, Jr.
Harry McCartney
Rey Mena
Jack Schaefer
Gary Schmitz
Norval Stephens
Claudio Taglienti

Recent News

Contact Us

Barrington, IL 60010


Annual Award

George Yapp
2017 Citizen of the Year

Started in 1975, BADC annually present a Community Service Award to a person or persons who made a meaningful contribution of time and effort that has benefitted the entire greater Barrington Community. This includes, but is not limited to, fields such as health, finance, land use, youth, education, conservation and transportation.

Past Award Winners include:

2016 Sue McGrath
2015 Beth Raseman
2014 Sue Randall
2013 Pat Karon
2012 Carol Nelson
2011 Bob Lee
2010 Richard and Roxy Pepper
2009 Tom Vanderpoel
2008 Kim Duchossois
2007 Konrad Bald
2006 Freddie Pederson
2005 Jim Peterson
2004 Edith Auchter
2003 Lorraine Briggs
2002 Patsy Mortimer
2001 Robert Woodsome
2000 Dolores Wagner